Hiding or Deleting a Security

Hiding a security in a Quicken data file makes the security invisible in certain views and lists It has no permanent effect. You can unhide a security at any time.

Deleting a security permanently removes it and all its related information from the Quicken data file. This includes all transaction dates, price histories, lot specifications, tax information, and so on. Quicken will not let you delete a security if you have any transactions (Buy, Sell, and so on) that include that security. You would first have to delete those transactions, and then delete the security.

Once a security is deleted, the information related to that security cannot be recovered.

To hide a security

  1. Select the Investing menu and select Security List.
  2. Select the security you want to hide, and then click Hide.

To unhide a security

  1. Select the Investing menu and select Security List.
  2. Click Options and select View hidden securities.
    Quicken displays a hand icon next to your hidden securities.
  3. To hide the security again, select the hidden security and click Hide.

Search Support:

Search form

Tip: To find out which version of Quicken you are using, open Quicken go to Help menu and select About Quicken.