What if I don't know whether to use Year-End Copy or Copy File?


Copying a file takes all or part of your current file and creates a new file with a different name. You might copy part of a file if:

•You want to copy transactions within a selected date range to start a new file or a new fiscal year.

•Your data disk is full.

•You want to copy your reminders, memorized payees,transaction groups, and categories to a new file without copying any transactions.

Quicken doesn't change the original file in any way and the copy contains all the accounts in the original file.

When you create a new year copy to archive or close out your file at the end of the year:

•Quicken saves a copy of your current data file and then deletes any transactions in the current data file that aren't in the current year.

•Your current data file consists of transactions that go back no further than January 1 of the current year, except for investment transactions and uncleared transactions, which are retained in the file regardless of their age.

Search Support:

Search form

Tip: To find out which version of Quicken you are using, open Quicken go to Help menu and select About Quicken.