How do I void or delete a transaction


When you delete a transaction, Quicken removes the transaction from the register and recalculates all subsequent balances. You can't get the transaction back unless you have a backup copy or unless you immediately undo the delete (and undo delete is not available for all account types). Delete transactions with caution; voiding a transaction is often a better option. Voiding leaves the transaction in the register (so you can maintain a record of it) but ignores the amount when calculating balances.

  • Void a transaction
    1. From the account register, click any place in the transaction that you want to void. You can use CTRL + click to select several transactions at once.

    2. Choose Edit menu > Void Transaction.

    3. Click Save.

    Notes

    When you void a transaction, Quicken removes the dollar amount of the transaction and inserts the word ***VOID*** before the payee name. Quicken also adds a c to the Clr field so that the transaction won't interfere with reconciling. If the transaction contains split amounts, Quicken changes each amount to zero. The check number is retained.

    Don't void an online payment instruction. If you do, Quicken can't get the confirmation number it needs to stop the payment. Cancel the online payment instruction instead.

    In addition, you can't void an investment transaction.

  • Delete a transaction
    1. From the account register or an investment transaction list, select the transaction that you want to delete.

    2. For investment transactions, click Delete directly under the transaction.

    3. For all other transaction types, click the gear icon (Gear icon) in the transaction toolbar and then choose Delete.

    4. Click Yes to confirm that you want to delete the transaction.

    Notes

    • When you delete a transaction, Quicken removes the transaction from the register and recalculates all subsequent balances. If you need to retain a record of the transaction, consider voiding it instead.

    • You can restore your most recently deleted transaction for any non-investment account by choosing Edit menu > Transaction > Undo Delete. You must perform the undo within the same Quicken session and from the same account from which the transaction was deleted. If several transactions were selected and deleted in one operation, Undo Delete restores all of them.

    • Use CTRL+click or SHIFT+click to select multiple transactions in an account register (does not work in an investment transaction list).

    • If you delete a transaction that includes a transfer, Quicken deletes the transfer from both the source and destination accounts.

    • You can protect transactions from being deleted accidentally by requiring a password before opening a file or before changing transactions entered on or before a certain date.

     

Search Support:

Search form

Tip: To find out which version of Quicken you are using, open Quicken go to Help menu and select About Quicken.