How To Resolve Temp_ Accounts

Product Version
Windows 2016
Windows 2017
499 people found this helpful

Overview

On occasion, an interruption will occur during an account update that will disrupt the download. Instead of erasing the incomplete data, Quicken creates a temporary account to place the data into. These appear as Temp_ accounts.

First, try restoring a backup 

  1. Select the File > Backup and Restore > Restore from Backup File....
  2. Select Restore from your backup, then click Browse.
  3. Select the file to restore (a backup from before the start of the issue) and click Open then Restore Backup.
  4. On the following prompt you will be given the option to overwrite the file you have open or to create a copy of the backup you're restoring.
  5. If you Create a copy, you will need to select a location to save the copy to and you will also need to give the copy a unique file name. After naming the file and selecting the location, click Save, then click Yes to open the restored file.
  6. If you are restoring a file over the current file, click OK to overwrite the current file the click Yes to open the restored file.
  7. Try updating your accounts again.

If the issue persists

  1. ​Click File > File Operations > Validate and Repair
  2. Check Validate file 
  3. Click OK. After the Validation process is finished, you will see the Data_Log appear in a Notepad window. This file is a summary of the Validation results
  4. Close Quicken and re-open it then attempt to update your accounts again

If the above steps don't resolve the problem

You will need to access the Temp account, move the transactions and then delete the account. To do this:

  1. Go to the Temp account register by clicking the link under the financial institution name displaying the number of accounts updated.
  2. Click the first Temp account on the list to open the register for that account.
  3. Click the first transaction in that register, and then while holding Shift, click the last one. This will select all the transactions.
  4. Right-click on any of the selected transactions and click Move transaction(s)
  5. In the prompt, select the correct account the transactions belong in and click OK.
  6. Once the transactions are moved, press Ctrl+Shift+E on the keyboard to open the Edit Account Details window.
  7. Click Delete Account.
  8. Type "yes" to confirm and click OK.
  9. Repeat these steps for every Temp account if there are more than one.

Lastly, 

Important: Make sure to create a backup of your data file before continuing with the steps below. 

  1. Deactivate all your accounts by going to Tools > Account List > Edit (next to each account) > Online Services tab, then click Deactivate.
  2. Go to File > File Operations > Copy (don't choose Year End Copy for this procedure).
  3. Leave all the settings, including file name and checkboxes, at their default (change nothing on this screen).
  4. After the Copy is complete, choose to Open New Copy.
  5. In the New Copy, go to File > File Operations > Validate & Repair > Validate file to ensure there are no lingering issues with the data in this file.
  6. When this process is complete, close Quicken and re-open it.
  7. Reactivate your accounts by going to Tools > Add Account (or the + sign above the account list), then re-add the deactivated account(s). Make certain when the accounts are located and listed that you LINK the accounts. If the list shows "Add" next to the account, it needs to be changed to "Link" or the account will be duplicated.

 

If the problem persists, Contact Quicken Support.

Help us improve our support center

Still can't find what you're looking for? Contact Support

Ask our community for help and to learn more about Quicken

Ask the community