When To Use a Year-End Copy or a Copy File

Product Version
Windows 2015
Windows 2016
Windows 2017
61 people found this helpful

Copying a file takes all or part of your current file and creates a new file with a different name. You might copy part of a file if:

  • You want to copy transactions within a selected date range to start a new file or a new fiscal year.
  • Your data disk is full.
  • You want to copy your scheduled transactions, memorized payees, transaction groups, and categories to a new file without copying any transactions.

Quicken doesn't change the original file in any way and the copy contains all the accounts in the original file.

When you create a new year-end copy to archive or close out your file at the end of the year:

  • Quicken saves a copy of your current data file and then deletes any transactions in the current data file that aren't in the current year.
  • Your current data file consists of transactions that go back no further than January 1 of the current year, except for investment transactions and uncleared transactions (if specified), which are retained in the file regardless of their age.
  • Quicken will only remove reconciled transactions.  Unreconciled transactions prior to the date specified will remain in the data file.
  • Quicken will retain Paid Invoices (A/R) and Bills (A/P) for customers or vendors that still have outstanding unpaid Invoices/Bills.
  • Quicken will retain Moved Out Tenants that have unpaid Rents or "kept" Security Deposits.
Help us improve our support center

Still can't find what you're looking for? Contact Support

Ask our community for help and to learn more about Quicken

Ask the community