How To Delete an Account

Product Version
Windows 2016
Windows 2017
135 people found this helpful

Overview

Deleting an account (checking, savings, etc.) permanently removes that account, and all of the transactions within it, from your Quicken data file. 

To delete an account:

  1. Before you begin, create a backup of your file.
  2. After backing up, click on Tools on the top menu bar, then choose Account List (or hold down Ctrl+A on your keyboard).
  3. Select the account you want to delete and click Edit.
  4. In the Account Details window, click Delete Account.
  5. To delete the account, you must type YES in the Delete Account window, and then click OK.

What if I accidentally deleted an account?

The data can only be recovered by restoring a backup. To maintain a record of the transactions without having the account show on your account list, hide the account instead.

Help us improve our support center

Still can't find what you're looking for? Contact Support

Ask our community for help and to learn more about Quicken

Ask the community